Living Outside the Box

image

This saying has been our motto since we embarked on our journey one and a half years ago. Leaving California where I grew up most of my life wasn’t easy. All my friends and family were there. But our life had been stagnant and our nomadic personalities gave us a nudge. We lived in a great community in our brand new three-bedroom house. I was active in my community as Children’s Activities Coordinator; we had great homeschool friends and my family were nearby. I got Abby-love anytime I needed it.
So why leave all that? There were many reasons but the most important one was Richard’s well-being. Richard had been feeling emotionally overwhelmed at work. My poor husband was on call 24/7. His pager went off while we slept, while we were having dinner, while he was in the shower and worse of all, while we were on vacation. There was no escaping it. He desperately wanted a change in career. And so with that quote in mind, we drastically made a change.
We knew that in order for better things to happen in our lives, we had to live outside the box. Ironically, we are RV-living. This goes against my preferred way of life, of course. I like having space. I like kitchen counter space, roomy bathroom and a nice closet. I liked my King-size bed. When we hit the road, all that went out the window.
Two summers ago, we explored to our heart’s content. At every destination, we visited national parks, went to museums, checked out local libraries and observed the community. We were looking for a good home. We went up through central and northern California and through Oregon. It was quite an experience doing this. Small towns stared and bi-racial couples smiled. We were out of our comfort zone but didn’t let uncharted territories get in our way.
Meanwhile, I missed friends and family. Long distance relationships aren’t for everybody. We lost a few good friends along the way but gained new ones wherever we were. This journey on the road taught me a lot about true friendships. I definitely got in touch with my spirituality more so than ever.
Fast forward to now. As I look at that picture of me at my new job, I realize that I became who I wanted to be. Dreams come true no matter how old you are. I’m in a classroom with children who call me Ms. Pam. I play, I teach, I paint. I give love and I receive. Every time a child calls me ‘teacher’, it’s a constant reminder that I am where I need to be in life. I never would have arrived here if I stayed in my box in the comfort of familiarity and routine.
“If you want something you’ve never had, you must be willing to do something you’ve never done.” Thomas Jefferson
I encourage all reading this to never give up on your dreams. It’s okay to say “I will be there someday”. Start slow with changing your routine. Do something you’ve never done and little by little, your goal will unfold. Before you know it, you’re right smack in the middle of it. It took me 16 days to realize it.

 

image

4 thoughts on “Living Outside the Box

  1. bncrafa says:

    Looks like you’ve finally found your place; too bad it’s 1500 miles from SoCal! Great T.J. quote; he’s my favorite founding father, but I hadn’t heard that one before. I finally realized that’s true when I returned to college (after 20 years!) this Fall. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. chungie1943 says:

    Hi Pam: So happy to hear from you.  Your note was beautifully written.  Being around children can be so rewarding.  You will be a tremendous asset to the school and the children will be so fortunate to have you as their mentor.  Richard will find a job that he too can enjoy.  Owen will always have a learning experience.  You all have courage and commitment. We went on a week vacation to Reno, Nevada, to visit friends we grew up with.  We had a wonderful visit.  The drive on 395 was absolutely beautiful.  Brought back many memories when we would go to Mammoth and Lake Tahoe. I’ll keep you updated on our doings here in California.  Had not opened my computer for a week and I had tons of e-mails, mostly ads. Take care and give a big hug to Owen from me and my regards to Richard.  Your friend, Margaret 

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

