Angels Do Have Wings

image

We arrived at SEATAC airport (Seattle Tacoma) at 5 am headed to Ontario, California two days ago. Everything was smooth. From Richard dropping us off at the curb to locating our gate. Our assigned seats were located at the rear of the plane (row 31) and we marched our way down the aisle. I didn’t bump into any elbows nor did Owen’s backpack hit anyone in the face in passing. Our seat was second to the last row and I was pleased that we sat in front of a mother of two little ones. I had already befriended the 5 yr old girl and I was looking forward to making her 1 yr old sister smile.

We settled into our seats and that’s when a problem presented itself in paws and a wagging tail. A service dog with its master parked themselves behind us. My eyes widened as I met Owen’s worried look. We didn’t see this one coming. Owen is allergic to pets. He started rubbing his eyes and I immediately asked an attendant if they had some kind of Benadryl. I needed one for my son who is allergic to the dog. That’s when the magic began.

I’ve never been the type who gets over dramatic about situations that aren’t going as planned. I remain positive and always find the silver lining. The Alaska Airline attendant immediately got to work and told me to give her a moment (to see if she can find us another seat). I look over at Owen and his eyes are red and watering. He is starting to wheeze and I calmly explain to him that the attendant is doing what she can to alleviate the unforeseen issue. I remain calm and wait patiently.

Not long after, the attendant caught my eye and she gives me a motherly reassuring nod and smile. A tall gentleman with a red beard was trailing behind her with his things in his arms. We made way for this Good Samaritan and I thank him whole heartedly as he claimed his seat(s). He gave up his seat at the front of the plane, row 12 to be exact, for a little boy (& his mom).

As I sat in my seat reflecting, I felt tears come to my eyes. I started to think, what if no one had given up their seat? Would this mean Owen & I would catch the next flight out? Would they have asked the service dog and its master to do the same? Would we need to flip a coin on who stays on and who gets off? Would Owen have to endure the (short) flight in complete discomfort? I told myself to breathe, relax and be simply grateful. It doesn’t matter anymore. The good deed has been done. I later introduced myself to Eric and shook his hand. He gives a “no problem” gesture and smile, like it was nothing. Evidently, as a mother, it meant a lot to me and to Owen’s lungs.

It turns out earth-bound angels are in places you least expect. I’m not religious but I am spiritual. I believe in humanitarianism, spirit guides and having good karma.

image

3 thoughts on “Angels Do Have Wings

  1. Tom Walker says:

    Sorry to hear that Owen is so allergic. I too have this problem. Not much fun for someone who lives with cats, but 5 years of allergy shots helped some. So where are you two off to? I’m sorry that McKenzie didn’t get a chance to meet with you guys, as I mentioned she got very excited when I mentioned the possibility. Have a safe trip.

    Like

  2. chungie1943 says:

    You had a couple of angels on board.  The kind steward and the person who traded seats with you.  I am going to share a story with you.  It happened last year.  I was trying to make up my mind if I wanted to go to Bed, Bath, and Beyond.  I decided to go.  I quickly showered and off I went.  As I parked and got out of my car, I noticed a young lady standing by her car with a cart filled with items she bought from Bed, Bath and Beyond.  I smiled at her and she mentioned she locked her keys in the car and phone.  I said I was sorry and continued into the store.  It bothered me and she seemed like a nice lady, so I went back outside and told her I had AAA and I would call so they could come out and open her car.  She said she was praying for someone to help her.  We talked while we waited for AAA.  The items she bought from the store were for a co-worker who needed help. She and friends from her employment were helping her with furnishings for her room that another co-worker was going to let her live in.  She was an angel (and her friends) to help another friend.  She was so thankful.  I see her on occasion in her SUV on the road and we exchange waves.  Sometimes I hesitate acting because you never know who you are helping. AAA was so prompt and opened her door in seconds. You can make a person’s day with a smile and kind words. Take care and have a nice trip. Margaret 

    Like

Leave a Reply

