Meaningful Friendships

image

About a year ago, we embarked on this journey of traveling by trailer in search of a good home.

I (still) sharply remember getting very homesick. I missed my family and friends.

The brave act of selling everything we owned, including cars and house; was very new to me and I had doubts by day 3; but at the same time, I embraced the obstacles and dealt with it as best I could. We were following our hearts and letting go of our fears. We were looking for a better and happier life.

I remember meeting a woman and her dog as I walked along the shores of a lake at Bridgeport, CA. I felt so lonely and this earth-bound angel befriended me. We walked along the lake talking as if We were friends for years. She gave me all the love and reassurance I needed. After that, she was gone. Came and went, her mission accomplished.

Throughout the year during my travels, I lost communication with a friend or two. Long distance friendships aren’t for everybody and sadly I had to accept it and let go of them. It was hard to do. I kept hanging on to what we used to have.

On the bright side, I have a handful of close friends who stuck with me; checking up on me, texting and/or making me laugh from thousands of miles away. These are friends I send postcards and Holiday cards to. I am grateful they are in my life.

Losing some friends also meant gaining new ones. Not too long ago, Owen made a friend at spring camp. I connected with his friend’s mom and we became friends. She lifted me up spiritually when I was at my lowest. Needless to say, she came at a very good time in my life. Once again, at a time of sadness, an earth-bound angel appeared.

One thing I learned: When I was up in life, my friends got to know who I am. When I was down in life, I got to know who my friends are.

Owen & I are in California for a few days. We’ll be getting in touch with his old friends and rekindling friendships. As for me, I have one goal: to personally appreciate that friend who made a difference in my year of stressful and lonely moments. Friends who I consider my on-call personal earth-bound Angels.

image

3 thoughts on “Meaningful Friendships

  1. Tom Walker says:

    Owen will always be missed by McKenzie and Brooke. The three of them had many great times playing together. I enjoyed seeing yours and Owens smiling faces in the neighborhood and was very sorry to see you go, but excited for you and your adventure. I hope all of you find a spot to settle that will make everyone happy.

    Take Care,

    Tom Walker
    McKenzie’s Grandpa
    x-Philips x-ray guy 🙂
    @tdwalkerss@gmail.com
    909-644-1002 cell phone

    Like

  2. chungie1943 says:

    Hi Pam:  Your note was so beautiful.  Powerful message.  I received your text.  I hope I addressed the letter correctly.  I sent to address you had noted on last letter:  302 Washington St., 150-4841 San Diego, Ca. 92103.  I also included a letter to Owen from Ramon.  Are you in Ca. now? I do think of you and family often and hope you are all doing well. It is really hot!!  Over 100!  But, our air conditioning is a blessing. I, too, at times get my lows and I only talk to myself or when I walk it helps.  When I go to mass on Sundays, I kneel and pray and say another week will start and it will be better.  My problem is I worry too much.  But, I am thankful for everything in my life. You, Richard, and Owen are having a wonderful experience.  I hope you find a place that you can call home.  There will be bumps along the way–you can grow and learn from them. Take care, my friend Love, Margaret

    Like

Leave a Reply

